Transcendental Goddess

35 cm high, 28 cm wide

One of the many meditation positions, showing the seven major chakra flowers
and the Sushumna nadi etheric nerve that transports Kundalini up through the spine.


Nadis: Sushumna, Ida, Pingala

In our physical body, nerves power us. Our higher mental and spiritual levels are powered by thousands of nadis of a more subtle etheric nature.
The Sanskrit root nad means motion, vibration. Nadis transport and circulate the life force (prana) within us.

During a Kundalini exercise, prana releases and activates the Kundalini. The Kundalini travels upwards through our body through these nadis (etheric nerves), refining and energizing our entire system, taking us to higher spiritual and mental energy levels.

The three main nadis:

Sushumna (spiritual essence): travels up the center and both sides of the spine.
Ida: refers to the chandra (yin) energies of the moon.
Pingala: refers to the surya (yang) energies of the sun.

Both the Ida and the Pingala weave back and forth around the spinal area likes snakes.
The main force during a Kundalini release rises up through Sushumna and the lesser forces rise up through Ida and Pingala.

There are many different breathing, balancing and cleansing exercises and yoga practices to help release Kundalini.
The first step in a Kundalini awakening is balancing the flow of energy in Ida and Pingala. This means that equal amounts of prana (breath) are flowing evenly in the left and right sides in the two nostrils.
By inhaling air (prana) and holding it in (pranayama) and guiding it through the Ida and Pingala down to the base of the spine into the space where Kundalini lies coiled, the prana produces an abrupt effect like sudden combustion in a confined space and its heat and sound combine to awake the serpent-power from its trance-sleep (yoga-nidra).